Michael Tomsic http://krwg-tv.org en It's Winner-Take-All In NASCAR's New Chase http://krwg-tv.org/post/its-winner-take-all-nascars-new-chase NASCAR's old point system was a mathematical labyrinth concerned with consistency: Drivers didn't have to actually win a race to make the playoffs, as long as they were in the top 10 often enough.<p>Even NASCAR CEO Brian France has joked that fans needed a computer next to them to figure it out. Take this announcement at a race in Richmond, Va., last year:<p><blockquote><p>"Joey Logano is still barely clinging to that 10th spot in points, but he's 25th two laps down. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Michael Tomsic 60492 at http://krwg-tv.org It's Winner-Take-All In NASCAR's New Chase Case Sheds Light On The Murky World Of Asbestos Litigation http://krwg-tv.org/post/case-sheds-light-murky-world-asbestos-litigation This is a case about a bankrupt company, legal shenanigans, and a rare type of cancer.<p>You may have seen TV commercials about mesothelioma, mainly caused by inhaling asbestos — minerals many companies once used in insulation and other products.<p>According to <a href="http://www.gao.gov/assets/590/585380.pdf">a 2011 report</a> from the U.S. Government Accountability Office, companies have set aside more than $30 billion for mesothelioma victims since the 1980s. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 22:26:00 +0000 Michael Tomsic 59254 at http://krwg-tv.org Case Sheds Light On The Murky World Of Asbestos Litigation States Settle Into Wooing War With Bids For Boeing Plane Plant http://krwg-tv.org/post/states-settle-wooing-war-bids-boeing-plane-plant Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Negotiations between Boeing and the machinists union in Washington State broke down again last night. The union rejected Boeing's latest contract offer. The deal would've guaranteed that production of the new 777X airplanes would stay in the Seattle area. Now, the aerospace giant may be taking those planes and thousands of jobs elsewhere.<p>Other states are eagerly courting them. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 23:56:00 +0000 Michael Tomsic 55858 at http://krwg-tv.org Too Much Rain Washes Out Crops In The South http://krwg-tv.org/post/too-much-rain-washes-out-crops-south Parts of the South have seen record rainfall this year. After years of drought, you'd think all that rain would be a good thing. But too much of the wet stuff is bad for farmers' crops. Mon, 26 Aug 2013 09:10:00 +0000 Michael Tomsic 48280 at http://krwg-tv.org NASCAR Champ Finds Fans With Beer, Tweets And Bangin' Fenders http://krwg-tv.org/post/nascar-champ-finds-fans-beer-tweets-and-bangin-fenders <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AfmZPCP7JhA</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 20:39:00 +0000 Michael Tomsic 35518 at http://krwg-tv.org NASCAR Champ Finds Fans With Beer, Tweets And Bangin' Fenders Closing Courthouse Brought Moonshiners To Justice http://krwg-tv.org/post/closing-courthouse-brought-moonshiners-justice Moonshine used to be big business in the South, an illegal business that also kept the federal courthouses busy. Now one of those facilities, once on the front lines of the war on homemade booze, is shutting down.<p>The Johnson J. Hayes Federal Building is in Wilkesboro, N.C., where distilling corn whiskey in backwoods breweries was once the town's main trade. Sun, 28 Oct 2012 13:03:00 +0000 Michael Tomsic 28664 at http://krwg-tv.org Closing Courthouse Brought Moonshiners To Justice