Milo Miles http://krwg-tv.org en Fight Sound With Sound: Grateful Dead's Arena Combat http://krwg-tv.org/post/fight-sound-sound-grateful-deads-arena-combat The same week that <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15050998/neil-young">Neil Young</a> introduced his <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/allsongs/2014/03/12/289435279/hear-neil-young-explain-his-pono-music-player-at-sxsw">Pono music player</a> designed to spark a huge boost in audio fidelity, I listened for the first time to a recording of a <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15440218/grateful-dead">Grateful Dead</a> concert I attended almost 40 years ago. And I realized that passions about good-sounding music go through cycles. Today, the lo-fi medium is MP3s through earbuds. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 19:47:00 +0000 Milo Miles 63074 at http://krwg-tv.org Fight Sound With Sound: Grateful Dead's Arena Combat Before He Joined Congress, A South African Janitor's Disco Past http://krwg-tv.org/post/he-joined-congress-south-african-janitors-disco-past The appearance of Penny Penny's <em>Shaka Bundu</em> in the American market is welcome not only in itself, but also as a sign of a larger trend. Five or six years ago, it was clear the music business was going into long-term sales decline, and I was certain that a prime victim of that would be African pop. The established imports of the '80s and '90s would be available as MP3 downloads, but surely new discoveries and reissues would slow to a trickle, if not cease altogether. I'm grateful that that has simply not happened. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Milo Miles 59419 at http://krwg-tv.org Before He Joined Congress, A South African Janitor's Disco Past Will The Real Llewyn Davis Please Stand Up? http://krwg-tv.org/post/will-real-llewyn-davis-please-stand <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56qo9sinSdc</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 18:04:00 +0000 Milo Miles 54613 at http://krwg-tv.org Will The Real Llewyn Davis Please Stand Up? Europe Swings The Body Electric http://krwg-tv.org/post/europe-swings-body-electric <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiA6u-w0uZc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EE7XkaFFtGE</p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 20:48:00 +0000 Milo Miles 52419 at http://krwg-tv.org Europe Swings The Body Electric Sylvester: 'Mighty Real' Disco Star Deserves A Modern Spotlight http://krwg-tv.org/post/sylvester-mighty-real-disco-star-deserves-modern-spotlight <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ue2UXnxp8Rs</p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:40:00 +0000 Milo Miles 45527 at http://krwg-tv.org Sylvester: 'Mighty Real' Disco Star Deserves A Modern Spotlight Festival Au Desert: Music Of Peace Not Silenced By War http://krwg-tv.org/post/festival-au-desert-music-peace-not-silenced-war Long ago, one of my college history professors hammered home a durable truth: "If you love art," she said, "you should hate war." Because some art is always among war's victims.<p>A case in point is a music celebration called Festival au Desert — held near Timbuktu, Mali, since 2001 — which I will Anglicize as Festival in the Desert. In January 2012, right after the last festival ended, a nationalist uprising began in the north of Mali, which was soon taken over by hardline Islamic fundamentalists. Thu, 30 May 2013 14:48:00 +0000 Milo Miles 42240 at http://krwg-tv.org Festival Au Desert: Music Of Peace Not Silenced By War Yo La Tengo: Decades In And Far From Fading http://krwg-tv.org/post/yo-la-tengo-decades-and-far-fading <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15223290/yo-la-tengo">Yo La Tengo</a> wouldn't seem to be very rock 'n' roll, given that it's a very stable and long-lasting operation. Since 1991, the lineup has consisted of a married couple — drummer Georgia Hubley and guitarist Ira Kaplan, along with bassist James McNew — and all three play additional instruments as needed. Yo La Tengo has been with the same label, Matador, since 1993. Mon, 04 Feb 2013 17:02:00 +0000 Milo Miles 34444 at http://krwg-tv.org Yo La Tengo: Decades In And Far From Fading Tunes To 'Work Hard, Play Hard, Pray Hard' To http://krwg-tv.org/post/tunes-work-hard-play-hard-pray-hard The first thing to note about the collection of old-timey music <em>Work Hard, Play Hard, Pray Hard</em> is that it resulted from a record-discovery event that happens less and less often, and soon will likely never happen again. The music was recorded between 1923 and 1936. Most of the sides on the set are taken from 78s collected by the late Don Wahle of Louisville, Ky., and rescued from Dumpster destruction in 2010 by compiler Nathan Salsburg. Nineteen of the songs have never been reissued. Piles of moldy vinyl left behind by the deceased were once commonplace. No longer. Wed, 19 Dec 2012 18:57:00 +0000 Milo Miles 31788 at http://krwg-tv.org Tunes To 'Work Hard, Play Hard, Pray Hard' To Samuel Yirga Ushers In A Golden Age Of Ethiopian Music http://krwg-tv.org/post/samuel-yirga-ushers-golden-age-ethiopian-music <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyI7IWtb-NI</p> Thu, 08 Nov 2012 17:34:00 +0000 Milo Miles 29370 at http://krwg-tv.org Samuel Yirga Ushers In A Golden Age Of Ethiopian Music Analog Players Society: A Party Cooked Up In A Studio http://krwg-tv.org/post/analog-players-society-party-cooked-studio Albums made by collections of professional studio players once had a bad reputation with the traditional rock audience. Such works were supposedly arid and chilly — more like the results of a board meeting than the recorded adventure of an organic group of fabulous friends. Some music fans may still feel that way, but they are few. Tue, 25 Sep 2012 17:06:00 +0000 Milo Miles 26795 at http://krwg-tv.org Analog Players Society: A Party Cooked Up In A Studio Boban i Marko Markovic: Irresistible Party Music http://krwg-tv.org/post/boban-i-marko-markovic-irresistible-party-music A dozen years ago, if someone told me that one of the liveliest, most inventive party albums of the year would come from a band originally associated with wedding celebrations and beer festivals, I would have been all, "Yeah, sure, you bet." If it was further explained that the band's roots were much closer to polka than rock, funk or hip-hop, I would have responded, "Don't push it." But nowadays, I'm familiar with the Boban i Marko Markovic Orkestar, whose retrospective <em>Golden Horns</em> will lighten the heart and lift the feet as surely as anything you'll hear in 2012. Tue, 31 Jul 2012 17:14:00 +0000 Milo Miles 23239 at http://krwg-tv.org Boban i Marko Markovic: Irresistible Party Music Paying Tribute To San Francisco DJ Cheb I Sabbah http://krwg-tv.org/post/paying-tribute-san-francisco-dj-cheb-i-sabbah Cheb i Sabbah's life traces an almost fairy-tale perfect path through the evolution of what's now called world music. Born in Algeria in 1947, he absorbed the Judeo-Arabic Andalusian music of his local culture before he joined the '60s rebellion and became a 17-year-old DJ playing soul 45s in Paris. By the end of the decade, he'd moved to New York and become friends with trumpeter Don Cherry, famous for his association with Ornette Coleman and a pioneer in the concept of multicultural music. Thu, 07 Jun 2012 16:25:00 +0000 Milo Miles 19749 at http://krwg-tv.org Paying Tribute To San Francisco DJ Cheb I Sabbah A Sure-Footed Collection Of 'African Blues' http://krwg-tv.org/post/sure-footed-collection-african-blues I have to hand it to the Putumayo label. Since it started as a soundtrack-provider to a clothing store in the early '90s, the operation has placed racks of CDs with friendly-primitivist art by Nicola Heindl into Starbucks and Whole Foods everywhere. Putumayo is as responsible as anything for making music buyers ask "Where's the world music section?" in shops or online. Mon, 30 Apr 2012 16:45:00 +0000 Milo Miles 17229 at http://krwg-tv.org A Sure-Footed Collection Of 'African Blues' From Dominican Roots, Bachata Is Here To Stay http://krwg-tv.org/post/dominican-roots-bachata-here-stay <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBCq0cSxvEE</p> Thu, 19 Apr 2012 15:10:00 +0000 Milo Miles 16553 at http://krwg-tv.org From Dominican Roots, Bachata Is Here To Stay Hugh Masekela: Wedding Songs That Don't Sound Blue http://krwg-tv.org/post/hugh-masekela-wedding-songs-dont-sound-blue In 1968, Hugh Masekela was not quite 30 years old and though he was in exile from his homeland of South Africa, he seemed ready to become at home on the American jazz and pop markets. That summer, he had scored a number one single, "Grazing in the Grass." A year earlier, he'd been one of the few international performers at the 1967 Monterrey International Pop Festival and had appeared in its D.A. Pennebaker documentary. Yet strangely enough, over the next 45 years Masekela never quite found his sweet spot. Thu, 01 Mar 2012 13:22:00 +0000 Milo Miles 14605 at http://krwg-tv.org Hugh Masekela: Wedding Songs That Don't Sound Blue El Rego: A Singer From Benin With Soul And Funk http://krwg-tv.org/post/el-rego-singer-benin-soul-and-funk It may seem counter-intuitive, but the history of world music proves that unfamiliar instruments and rhythms cross borders much more readily than vocal styles. There's no question that, starting in the late '60s, soul and then funk became very popular in sub-Saharan Africa. Decades of reissues show that a lot of players found their way into electric guitar, and that enriching the big beat of the West was a cinch for African percussionists.<p>Regarding singers, only South Africa had a gospel tradition that was ready for soul from the get-go. Wed, 21 Dec 2011 17:09:00 +0000 Milo Miles 1619 at http://krwg-tv.org El Rego: A Singer From Benin With Soul And Funk