Bob Mondello http://krwg-tv.org en Big Names, High Production Values ... And These Are Indie Flicks? http://krwg-tv.org/post/big-names-high-production-values-and-these-are-indie-flicks A small budget doesn't mean a film can't have big-name stars or high production values. Witness the rural Southern drama <em>Joe</em>, which brings Nicolas Cage back to indie films, and Jim Jarmusch's <em>Only Lovers Left Alive, </em>which turns the city of Detroit into an otherworldly landscape. Their low-budget aesthetic also allows these films to turn Hollywood conventions inside out.<p>The title character in <em>Joe</em> poisons trees for a living. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 63877 at http://krwg-tv.org Big Names, High Production Values ... And These Are Indie Flicks? Mickey Rooney, All-American Boy For More Than 90 Years, Dies http://krwg-tv.org/post/mickey-rooney-all-american-boy-more-90-years-dies Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Mickey Rooney, who lived a long life on stage and screen, died last night at his home in Los Angeles. He was 93. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:45:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 63542 at http://krwg-tv.org Stay Classy, Norwich: 'Alan Partridge' Aims For American Success http://krwg-tv.org/post/stay-classy-norwich-alan-partridge-aims-american-success Say the name Alan Partridge in Britain, and everyone knows who you're talking about: An airheaded, funny and entirely fictional broadcaster prone to saying things like, "You can keep Jesus — as far as I'm concerned, Neil Diamond will always be King of the Jews."<p>British comedian Steve Coogan has been playing Partridge on radio and TV for more than 20 years. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 20:17:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 63403 at http://krwg-tv.org Stay Classy, Norwich: 'Alan Partridge' Aims For American Success Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground http://krwg-tv.org/post/send-out-doves-noah-lands-solid-ground The story of Noah's Ark is getting blockbuster treatment in Hollywood's new biblical epic <em>Noah</em>. Darren Aronofsky's film about the Old Testament shipbuilder has been sparking controversy — but there's no denying that the Great Flood, digitized, is a pretty great flood.<p>"In the beginning there was ... Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:01:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 62923 at http://krwg-tv.org Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground Addicted To Sex, But Not Really Having Much Fun http://krwg-tv.org/post/addicted-sex-not-really-having-much-fun Danish filmmaker Lars von Trier has found all sorts of ways to provoke moviegoers in the past — with metal spikes in <em>Antichrist</em>, by ignoring narrative conventions in <em>Dogville,</em> by presenting depression as the only reasonable reaction to the world as we know it — and then destroying that world — in <em>Melancholia.</em> And as if this last weren't enough, he told a Nazi joke to a crowd prepared to shower him with adulation at Cannes.<p>So it's reasonable to expect something decently outrageous, or perhaps indecently outrageous, from a four-hour opus called <em>Nymphomaniac</em> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 17:02:01 +0000 Bob Mondello 62423 at http://krwg-tv.org Addicted To Sex, But Not Really Having Much Fun Middle-Aged Souls Channel Teen Rebellion, Just For A 'Week-End' http://krwg-tv.org/post/middle-aged-souls-channel-teen-rebellion-just-week-end <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vB6508I35Mo</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 61878 at http://krwg-tv.org Middle-Aged Souls Channel Teen Rebellion, Just For A 'Week-End' Review: 'The Grand Budapest Hotel' http://krwg-tv.org/post/review-grand-budapest-hotel Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Filmmaker Wes Anderson makes movies that are eccentric, pointedly artificial and, to his fans, very funny. From his early comedies "Rushmore" and "The Royal Tannenbaums," to last year's Oscar-nominated "Moonrise Kingdom," Anderson's movies have looked and sounded different from everyone else's in Hollywood. And critic Bob Mondello says that streak continues with his spoof of extravagant 1930s melodramas. It's called "The Grand Budapest Hotel."<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: The hotel looks a bit like a pink wedding cake perched atop a Swiss Alp. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:02:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 61452 at http://krwg-tv.org Alain Resnais, Director And Master Of Disorientation, Dies At 91 http://krwg-tv.org/post/alain-resnais-director-and-master-disorientation-dies-91 Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The French filmmaker who shook up European cinema and offered inspiration to directors as varied as Woody Allen and David Lynch died on Saturday. Alain Resnais caused a sensation with his films "Hiroshima Mon Amour" and "Last Year at Marienbad" in the 1950s and '60s. Critic Bob Mondello offers an appreciation.<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: Memory, or rather how unreliable memory can be, fascinated Alain Resnais. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 21:23:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 61131 at http://krwg-tv.org A Meet-Cute Romance With A Delicious Twist http://krwg-tv.org/post/meet-cute-romance-delicious-twist <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENgWVvQYCxg</p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 22:24:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 60921 at http://krwg-tv.org A Meet-Cute Romance With A Delicious Twist Harold Ramis: A Big-Screen Comedy Nerd, Eager To Please http://krwg-tv.org/post/harold-ramis-big-screen-comedy-nerd-eager-please <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSVeDx9fk60</p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 22:34:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 60670 at http://krwg-tv.org Harold Ramis: A Big-Screen Comedy Nerd, Eager To Please One Conflict, One Wall, Two Sides Of The Arab-Israeli World http://krwg-tv.org/post/one-conflict-one-wall-two-sides-arab-israeli-world American art-house audiences are being offered an intriguing exercise in double vision over the next couple of weeks: two movies about Palestinian informants and their complicated relationships with Israel's secret service, one directed by a Palestinian, the other by an Israeli. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 23:58:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 60402 at http://krwg-tv.org One Conflict, One Wall, Two Sides Of The Arab-Israeli World Plenty Of Heart, Not Much Art In 'Monuments Men' http://krwg-tv.org/post/plenty-heart-not-much-art-monuments-men There's a fascinating tale to be told in <em>The Monuments Men</em>, George Clooney's new film based on the true story of a search for looted art stolen by the Nazis during World War II. In real life, with fighting still raging on the battlefields of Europe, a small team of art experts searched urgently for tens of thousands of missing paintings and sculptures. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 00:16:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 59445 at http://krwg-tv.org Plenty Of Heart, Not Much Art In 'Monuments Men' On Philip Seymour Hoffman, And His Many Appearances http://krwg-tv.org/post/philip-seymour-hoffman-and-his-many-appearances <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzY2pWrXB_0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQ_4m2ocxhI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRud1so-Z-M</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:27:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 59150 at http://krwg-tv.org On Philip Seymour Hoffman, And His Many Appearances A Century Ago Today, Chaplin Made His Film Debut — In A Dud http://krwg-tv.org/post/century-ago-today-chaplin-made-his-film-debut-dud <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LoLw4TJKdU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-j2K3A1S5ak</p> Sun, 02 Feb 2014 22:18:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 59107 at http://krwg-tv.org A Century Ago Today, Chaplin Made His Film Debut — In A Dud At Home, With Mom And Her Murderous Beau http://krwg-tv.org/post/home-mom-and-her-murderer-beau So here's the setup: It's 1987. Frank, a convicted murderer, has escaped from a New Hampshire prison, and he's holding Adele, a fragile divorcee, and her 12-year-old son, Henry, captive in their own house until they eat his chili.<p>Turns out it's good chili — so good that it inspires Adele, whom the handsome convict has tied up very gently and tenderly, to reminisce about a conversation she and her son had about his sex education class. Seriously, it's some good chili. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 23:18:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 58930 at http://krwg-tv.org At Home, With Mom And Her Murderous Beau Sun And Water, And A Dangerous Brand Of Desire http://krwg-tv.org/post/sun-and-water-and-dangerous-brand-desire <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PgcEGKn7waI</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 22:32:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 58424 at http://krwg-tv.org Sun And Water, And A Dangerous Brand Of Desire Screen Time: Bob Mondello's Favorite Films Of 2013 http://krwg-tv.org/post/screen-time-bob-mondellos-favorite-films-2013 Conventional wisdom has it that television is where the creative action is these days, and yes, there are some <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/monkeysee/2013/12/30/258413489/remote-control-it-was-hard-to-turn-off-the-tv-in-2013">terrific shows on cable</a>.<p>But there are things it's hard to do on the small screen, and the year's most cinematic film delighted in reminding audiences why they like seeing movies in theaters.<p>Spacesuited figures in orbit. Serene, breathtakingly gorgeous. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 21:13:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 56929 at http://krwg-tv.org Screen Time: Bob Mondello's Favorite Films Of 2013 From An Oscar Winner, A 'Past' Still Hauntingly Present http://krwg-tv.org/post/oscar-winner-past-still-hauntingly-present Iranian filmmaker Asghar Farhadi came to international attention last year when his film <em>A Separation</em> won the Oscar for best foreign language film. His latest picture, <em>The Past,</em> has been showered with awards, too — at the Cannes Film Festival and from critics groups in the U.S. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 22:01:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 56258 at http://krwg-tv.org From An Oscar Winner, A 'Past' Still Hauntingly Present 5 By O'Toole: What To Watch Beyond 'Lawrence Of Arabia' http://krwg-tv.org/post/5-otoole-what-watch-beyond-lawrence-arabia <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eTbLkYmWZJo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOWpf7tuCXo</p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 18:25:32 +0000 Bob Mondello 55981 at http://krwg-tv.org 5 By O'Toole: What To Watch Beyond 'Lawrence Of Arabia' Peter O'Toole, Exuberant From 'Lawrence' To His Last Role http://krwg-tv.org/post/peter-otoole-exuberant-lawrence-his-last-role Blond, blue-eyed and wearing blazing white robes in <em>Lawrence Of Arabia</em>, Peter O'Toole was handsome enough — many said beautiful enough — to carry off the scene in which director David Lean simultaneously made stars of both his title character and his leading man.<p>The scene: a wrecked train, blown up by Lawrence and surrounded by his Bedouin followers, one of whom has just smashed a news photographer's camera. O'Toole's Lawrence explains that the man thinks the camera will steal his soul. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 07:59:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 55948 at http://krwg-tv.org Peter O'Toole, Exuberant From 'Lawrence' To His Last Role Behind Great Art, The Artist's Painstaking Process http://krwg-tv.org/post/behind-great-art-artists-painstaking-process Stephen Sondheim has written quite a few classic musicals — <em>Company</em>, <em>A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum</em>, <em>Sweeney Todd</em>, <em>Into the Woods</em> — but he's had just one hit song, "Send in the Clowns" from <em>A Little Night Music.</em> And, as he tells an audience in <em>Six by Sondheim</em>, it was a tricky one to write because the star who had to sing it, Glynis Johns, wasn't a singer with a capital "s."<p>"She had a lovely, sweet, bell-like voice, which was breathy and short-winded," Sondheim says. "So it's written in short phrases. ... Fri, 06 Dec 2013 00:03:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 55290 at http://krwg-tv.org Behind Great Art, The Artist's Painstaking Process Among The Holiday Glut, 3 Movies About The Creative Life http://krwg-tv.org/post/among-holiday-glut-3-movies-about-creative-life It's movie-binge time — that month-long surge of Oscar hopefuls and would-be blockbusters Hollywood always winds up the year with. Mon, 02 Dec 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 55002 at http://krwg-tv.org Among The Holiday Glut, 3 Movies About The Creative Life Solid 'Frozen' Puts A Fresh Sheen On An Old Story http://krwg-tv.org/post/solid-frozen-puts-fresh-sheen-old-story The new animated musical <em>Frozen</em> is based — sort of, hypothetically, in theory, or at least according to the Disney studio — on the Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale <em>The Snow Queen.</em><p>Not in ways anyone would notice, however, and not in ways that will in any way distract moviegoers from thinking about the other works that seem to have influenced its creators; unlike in many animated movies, the borrowings aren't so much in-jokey as structural. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:03:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 54703 at http://krwg-tv.org Solid 'Frozen' Puts A Fresh Sheen On An Old Story Two Very Different Movies, Two Heroines With Spine http://krwg-tv.org/post/two-very-different-movies-two-heroines-spine It's a fact of Hollywood life that the movie industry is dominated by men. Male stars make more money. Male executives make more decisions. And the vast majority of films are about what men do, or think, or blow up. But this weekend, two heroines are the backbone — the impressively sturdy backbone — of two very different pictures.<em> </em><p>When it comes to dystopian fiction, there aren't a lot of characters I'd rather have on my side than Katniss Everdeen. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 02:40:33 +0000 Bob Mondello 54416 at http://krwg-tv.org Two Very Different Movies, Two Heroines With Spine Chasing Money, And Meaning, In 'Nebraska' http://krwg-tv.org/post/chasing-money-and-meaning-nebraska Woody Grant has white hair, a cranky disposition and a stubbornness that just won't quit. When we meet him, he's being stopped by a highway patrolman as he's walking down the shoulder of a Montana interstate. Wed, 13 Nov 2013 23:59:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 53849 at http://krwg-tv.org Chasing Money, And Meaning, In 'Nebraska' Biography Of Director Bob Fosse Razzles, Dazzles And Delights http://krwg-tv.org/post/biography-director-bob-fosse-razzles-dazzles-and-delights <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CX-24Zm0bjk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BuTPupqrTDo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CX-24Zm0bjk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oF0I-9p_yDM</p> Thu, 07 Nov 2013 20:57:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 53424 at http://krwg-tv.org Biography Of Director Bob Fosse Razzles, Dazzles And Delights This 'Time,' Supernatural Love Story Falls Flat http://krwg-tv.org/post/time-supernatural-love-story-falls-flat There's a phrase in French — "<em>L'esprit de l'escalier</em>," meaning "staircase wit" — for that moment when you've lost an argument and are walking away, and <em>waaay</em> too late, think of the perfect comeback. If you could just rewind your life a few minutes, you'd win the argument.<p>That's pretty much the setup in the new British comedy <em>About Time</em>.<p>We meet shy, young Tim (Domhnall Gleeson) as he's making a total mess of an opportunity to kiss a girl on New Year's Eve. Sat, 02 Nov 2013 20:38:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 53095 at http://krwg-tv.org This 'Time,' Supernatural Love Story Falls Flat Matthew McConaughey, Fiercely Committed To This 'Club' http://krwg-tv.org/post/matthew-mcconaughey-fiercely-committed-club Texas good ol' boy Ron Woodroof was a player — drugs, alcohol, women, gambling. As <em>Dallas Buyers Club</em> starts, he's at a rodeo, snorting cocaine, with a fistful of bets, when he gets it on with two prostitutes. Not a "healthy" lifestyle — one that's left him gaunt, weak, coughing.<p>With the advantage of hindsight, what's ailing him seems obvious now. Back in 1986, it didn't, until doctors did a blood test and told him he had 30 days to live.<p>Woodroof (Matthew McConaughey) won't accept that. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 21:06:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 53050 at http://krwg-tv.org Matthew McConaughey, Fiercely Committed To This 'Club' For A Free Spirit, A Grim '12 Years' In Chains http://krwg-tv.org/post/free-spirit-grim-12-years-chains Just a few years before the start of the Civil War, two anti-slavery books became best-sellers in the United States. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 16:40:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 52112 at http://krwg-tv.org For A Free Spirit, A Grim '12 Years' In Chains Beat Manifesto: 'Kill Your Darlings,' Figuratively And ... http://krwg-tv.org/post/beat-manifesto-kill-your-darlings-figuratively-and Hollywood's been trying to get a handle on the Beat Poets for years. Allen Ginsberg, William Burroughs and Jack Kerouac led wild — and influential — lives. But films about them, like <em>Naked Lunch</em> and <em>On the Road</em>, have never really clicked with audiences. Wed, 16 Oct 2013 21:59:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 51991 at http://krwg-tv.org Beat Manifesto: 'Kill Your Darlings,' Figuratively And ...